Scholarships in India

scholarship is an award of financial aid for a student to further their education. Scholarships are awarded based upon various criteria, which usually reflect the values and purposes of the donor or founder of the award. Scholarship money is not required to be repaid.

The most common scholarships may be classified as:

  • Merit-based: These awards are based on a student’s academic, artistic, athletic or other abilities, and often factor in an applicant’s extracurricular activities and community service record. The most common merit-based scholarships, awarded by either private organizations or directly by a student’s intended college, recognize academic achievement or high scores on standardized tests. Most such merit-based scholarships are paid directly by the institution the student attends, rather than issued directly to the student.
  • Need-based: Some private need-based awards are confusingly called scholarships. However, scholarships are often merit-based, while grants tend to be need-based.
  • Student-specific: These are scholarships for which applicants must initially qualify based upon gender, race, religion, family, and medical history, or many other student-specific factors. Minority scholarships are the most common awards in this category.
  • Career-specific: These are scholarships a college or university awards to students who plan to pursue a specific field of study. Often, the most generous awards to students who pursue careers in high-need areas such as education or nursing. Many schools in the United States give future nurses full scholarships to enter the field, especially if the student intends to work in a high-need community.
  • College-specific: College-specific scholarships are offered by individual colleges and universities to highly qualified applicants. These scholarships are given on the basis of academic and personal achievement. Some scholarships have a “bond” requirement. Recipients may be required to work for a particular employer for a specified period of time or to work in rural or remote areas; otherwise, they may be required to repay the value of the support they received from the scholarship. This is particularly the case with education and nursing scholarships for people prepared to work in rural and remote areas.
  • Athletic: Awarded to students with exceptional skill in a sport. Often this is so that the student will be available to attend the school or college and play the sport on their team, although in some countries government funded sports scholarships are available, allowing scholarship holders to train for international representation. School-based athletics scholarships can be controversial, as some believe that awarding scholarship money for athletic rather than academic or intellectual purposes is not in the institution’s best interest.
  • Brand Scholarships: These scholarships are sponsored by a brand that is trying to gain attention to their brand, or a cause. Sometimes these scholarships are referred to as branded scholarships. The Miss America beauty pageant is the most famous example of a brand scholarship.
  • Creative Contest Scholarships: These scholarships are awarded to students based on a creative submission. Contest scholarships are also called mini project based scholarships where students can submit entries based on unique and innovative ideas.

Scholarship can be provided by private and government-based institutions, and are intended to cover the remaining fees charged to a student after the various grants are taken into account.

Broadly scholarship divided in to career basis

Indian educational system follow a systematic educational pattern “10+2+3”. It is defined as 10 years of primary education, then more 2 years of higher secondary education followed by 3 years of college education. There are further levels of education in this system that includes Master’s degree and many more.

Pre Nursery

This is more of a day care for children who are in an age group of 2 to 5 years. This is the first exposure that a child has with the schooling system and is basically inculcated with very basic level education.


The next in the hierarchy is level kindergarten. Children from age group 3 to 6 years reside in this educational level. In most of the schools this level is further sub divided in two levels which are as the following: Lower Kindergarten (LKG) & Upper Kindergarten (UKG).

10+2+3 patterned Education

This is the core of the hierarchy of Indian education system. Every educational institute of India follows this pattern. The three levels of this pattern are explained as below

  • 10 years of basic education – This level incorporates 10 years of basic education which is compulsory for every child to get to have the basic foundation of education for a bright future. This 10 years system can be systematically divided into these following three sub levels – a) 5 years of Primary education b) 3 years of Upper Primary education c) 2 years of High School
  • 2 years of Higher Secondary education – These two years are of board education that can be obtained by schools or colleges supporting higher secondary education.
  • 3 years of College Education – These 3 years are of graduate program that can be supported by any university which is authorized by Indian government.  But some professional courses are of more than 3 year span.
  • High level Education – This level of the educational system in hierarchy of Indian education system incorporates higher level of education like Master’s degree, diplomas, doctorate level education etc.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Contact us

Fill in the form below or give us a call and we'll contact you. We endeavour to answer all enquiries within 24 hours on business days.